top of page
Search
  • onepassionatemommi

Job Reconsidered

"After the LORD (YHWH) had finished speaking to Job, he said to Eliphaz the Temanite: "I am angry with you and your two friends, for you have not spoken the truth about me, as my servant Job has. Now take seven bulls and seven rams, go to my servant Job, and offer a burnt offering for yourselves. Then my servant Job will pray for you. I will surely accept his prayer and not deal with you as your folly deserves. For you have not spoken the truth about me, as my servant Job has." Then Eliphaz the Temanite, Bildad the Shuhite, and Zophar the Naamathite went and did as the LORD (YHWH) had told them, and the LORD (YHWH) accepted Job's prayer. Job 42:7-9 CSB


NOTE: Every place your Bible says LORD, they have replaced the Father's personal name (YHWH). I'll save why I think that is very important for another post!


NOTE: I italicized some words. More on that to come.


When I read the above Scriptures, something jumped out at me in light of Job's righteousness and suffering. It was Job's praying for his friends. I will surely accept his prayer and not deal with you as your folly deserves. Immediately my spirit recognized the parallel between this act and how the Father sees us through our Messiah. It clicked that Job was righteous and that he suffered not due to his sin...but due to the enemy. As I studied, I came across the above verses, but they didn't have YHWH accepting Job's prayer...rather Job himself, so I decided to dig into the Hebrew. In the Hebrew, it says that He would surely accept Job and not deal with them as their folly deserved. And later YHWH accepted Job. Many modern translations insert the word prayer, and a handful do not. Had the Father not revealed the parallel between Job and Messiah, I wouldn't have even thought to look further. Once I did, it was confirmed: I believe Job was a typecast or foreshadow of our Messiah. Even as I type this, I see more and more parallels, but I'll leave that for us to continue to search out.


I have heard a lot of discussion on Job and much of it centers around asking why. I think with this revelation, that question takes on a ton of new meaning! Praise God for His goodness!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our Great Reward

At the beginning of Genesis 15, the Father comes to Abram in a vision. Abram has just gone and defeated an entire set of kings, rescuing his nephew Lot. The King of Sodom wants to split the spoil, him

Fragrance

The covenant the Father made with Noah is well known. Never again will all life be destroyed by the waters of a flood. Rainbows strike joy in hearts all over...the sign of this covenant! Yet, there is

Rahab - A Picture of the Gospel

Jesus walked the earth, living a sinless life. He died for our sins on the cross, and the Father raised Him to life after three days. We then, through faith, repent of our sins and turn, choosing to f

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page